DAILY LIFE · Dessert · FOOD & BEVERAGE · LONDON, UK · SOHO

SWEETS : Corsstown Doughnut & Coffee Bar SOHO

Realized a week went by but it’s always better than never right?

So last week I went on a long “hike” around London (West side to Central) walking about 14+ km. Along the way we managed to have an unsatisfactory lunch, stopped by a patisserie which was way too full…but managed to find a doughnut shop.

Capture.PNG
Borrowed from their website…Locations

It’s a small cute shop on a side street next to Agent Provocateur…not that I was looking but it does make it sexier than the normal doughnut shop ゛(6 ̄  ̄)*aha*

Unfortunately due to its size there isn’t really a huge eat in space for you to leisurely sit and chat, but it does have a small counter on the left side of the shop  as you walk in. Crosstown Doughnuts has a nice selection of doughnuts in the show case daily and it is displayed nicely as you walk in. So you get to think about your choices while you stand in line. The shop staff is efficient and nice so you don’t feel too rushed as you’re picking out your guilty pleasure. Feel free to ask them any questions about the flavor too, they are more than happy to answer them. They told me Chocolate Truffle was their best seller for the day!

Their dough is sourdough based and it’s not as soft and fluffy as Krispy Kreme or other store front commercial doughnuts, but don’t get me wrong I am not saying it’s hard and dry. It’s moist and soft like a home made cake. They bake their doughnuts daily so you can be rest assured you’re not buying day old doughnuts. It feels nice to buy a doughnut that’s not all chemical like the commercial ones. They have both cream filled ones (without the hole) and the normal doughnut. Personally I like the normal holed ones since I am not a huge fan of too much cream filling…but that’s just a personal preference.

img_0657
I decided to buy a box to test out some flavors

Instead of just buying 1 doughnut for myself I decided to be a good wife and buy a whole box to share with my husband (KGB). I was quite surprised that the box for the doughnuts were quite sturdy…if it wasn’t for the grease marks I would have definitely used it again!

img_0656
It comes in a box laid flat!

The flavors I got were (from the top right clockwise):

  • Crème Brûlée
  • Matcha Tea
  • Beetroot Lemon-Thyme
  • Black Forest
  • Apricot & Lavender
  • Chai Tea

My favorite was the Matcha Tea and Beetroot Lemon-Thyme…the Matcha one had a bit of Matcha cream slathered inside not too much but enough to give it a distinct flavor. KGB (my husband) said his favorite was Chai Tea, the spiced glaze with the cream filling was quite tasty it seems…but the crispy sugar glaze on the Crème Brûlée was nice he said since he wasn’t too keen on the inside cream. Overall I like non cream filled and he’s more a cream filled kind of guy. So it was nice that I got 3-3 to please both of our tastes.

img_0661

Would I go back and buy some more?

Sure! If the shop was closer I think it would be a problem since I would be going there more than necessary. Thankfully it’s far enough that the temptation won’t bankrupt us =( ̄□ ̄;)⇒ on the other hand I figured out that the website also accepts orders for delivery (or collection)…but you have to  buy a dozen or more so that’s stopping me from ordering and being a lazy bum! If I am in the general area I think it’s a cute place I would drop in on my way home to pick up some doughnuts for home.

Uh-oh…deliveroo also does delivery from half dozen…Google you are not helping me!!

crosstown
Recycled from last week…

Crossstown Doughnut & Coffee Bar

  • Store Hours :
  • Mon-Thu 08:00-22:00
  • Fri 08:00-23:00, Sat 09:00-23:00
  • Sun 09:00-20:00 or until sold out
  • Price
  • Classic Half Dozen – £15.00
  • Favorite Half Dozen – £17.00
  • Individual Doughnuts –£2.20 ~ £3.80
img_0637
Before heading home with my box of doughnuts I had a quick tea break with my friend before walking back home…you can get a mini doughnut at the shop just in case you can’t finish a whole one.

Have a Great week ahead!

2 thoughts on “SWEETS : Corsstown Doughnut & Coffee Bar SOHO

    1. Thanks!! Yeah I was meaning to go there a while and finally got around to it (๑>◡<๑) So glad I did too. The hubby also was happy with the "box" I brought home. Too bad it doesn't last that long though…

      Like

Leave a Reply

