DAILY LIFE · MacBook Pro · ME · TECHNOLOGY

TECHNOLOGY : USB-C Hub for MacBook

I recently changed from Windows to Mac.

A quantum leap forward as some Mac enthusiasts would say…honestly though besides not having Microsoft pre-installed in the computer and struggling to install a lot of things back…not much has changed.

Well OK compared to my piece of sh*t Lenovo that takes 5 minutes to boot up and another 5 to log in, and another 5 to connect to wi-fi it is a quantum leap forward…but my Lenovo was an exception so no judgement.

Also I kind of liked installing stuff on the windows rather than the MacBook. The whole concept of Apps on the computer is weird for me. I do have an iPhone so I get it…but I found myself trying to touch the screen in attempts to make it work.

I know first world problems!

One thing that I am still getting use to is the USB-C thing. Instead of having USB ports every where Mac has done away with it and replaced it with this C thing.

macbook-usb-c-port-macro_0So now I am (or was) on the hunt for a USB-C hub to connect my USB oriented stuff from my Lenovo like iPhone charger, external HD, etc.

My go to is :

  1. Amazon (obviously)
  2. Apple Store
  3. Other…

Amazon is relatively cheap and you can read hilarious reviews from other retail purchasers like myself so it is a good option.

Apple Store…as everything Apple goes its expensive and my will to buy diminishes unless someone tells me they get a huge corporate discount or something.

Now this time I randomly was reading USB-C port reviews in Japanese and this guy after trying out these hubs ventured to look at some ones on Kickstarter and Indiegogo. They are crowdfunding platforms that has some interesting stuff.

My brother told me after backing a (theoretically awesome) whiskey ice stone wasn’t really woth it since it all sounds good in theory, but in practice really isn’t practical.

Keeping that in mind I looked through a few of them on these crowdfunding websites. Some of them didn’t even get past the  initial startup amount -a bad sign. However, I found a few which were in production and already shipping. They were looking for a second wave of investment to further their production.

One that I particularly liked was :

  • HyperDrive Thunderbolt 3 USB-C Hub for MacBook Pro
pbxrdy9188ukziyynqrx
From their Indiegogo Page.
Fastest 50Gb/s hub for 2016 MacBook Pro. Adds HDMI, Thunderbolt 3, USB-C, microSD, SD, 2 x USB 3.1

HYPER by Sanho Corporation
San Francisco, United States
From their Indiegogo crowdfunding site.
In theory it would be perfect to have HDMI along with USB, and a slot for my SD since I do have a camera. So perhaps this was an encouragement from the tech geniuses that maybe I should give this crowdfunding a try…
Long story short I invested in their project for 1 USB-C hub. Hopefully it gets to me in March 2017. Will review it once I have the actual product…but I am still excited about this purchase.
If you’re interested in giving it a try…heres the Link.
I really hope more of these startups get going then it would create us retail purcahsers with more options (and hopefully drive the prices down!).
Leave a Reply

