ABOUT · DAILY LIFE · MacBook Pro · ME · REVIEW · SHOPPING · Tech · Techie Items · TECHNOLOGY

TECHNOLOGY REVIEW : HyperDrive Thunderbolt 3 USB-C Hub for 2016 MacBook Pro

A few months back I was looking for a USB hub for my MacBook Pro since it only comes with a USB-C Hub. I came across the HyperDrive which was doing a crowdfunding promo (?) so naturally I gave it a try.

Honestly I am not a huge fan of crowdfunding sites like KickStarter and Indiegogo anc such since the likelihood of your item arriving in your hands is 40-60 not in your favor. A lot of companies just fail to deliver and there’s nothing really you can do about it…however after looking at review and realizing HyperDrive was an existing company that already produced products on sale & delivered I gave it a try.

Mine arrived mid March so here’s my review.

HyperDrive Thunderbolt 3 USB-C Hub for MacBook Pro

Produced by : HYPER by Sanho Corporation (San Francisco, US)

Specifications

  • Output: 
    • HDMI supporting 1080p@60Hz, 4K@30Hz
    • Thunderbolt 3 supporting video up to 5K@60Hz or 2x4K@60Hz, 40Gb/s data and max 100W full speed power delivery pass through charging
    • USB-C data (5Gb/s)
    • SD (UHS-I 104MB/s)
    • micro SD (UHS-I 104MB/s)
    • 2 x USB 3.1 Gen 1 (5Gb/s)
  • Input: 2 x Thunderbolt 3 USB-C
  • DC/DC efficiency: Up to 96%
  • Device Operating Temperature: Less than 48ºC / 118ºF
  • Enclosure: CNC aluminum available in Space Gray & Silver color
  • Dimensions: 4.5″ x 1.1″ x 0.3″ / 115 x 28.5 x 8.5mm
  • Weight: 1.2oz / 34g

pbxrdy9188ukziyynqrx

The hub is sleek in design and totally unintrusive. Fits well on my MacBook, wuite stable as well since it fits into the 2 USB C’s on the side. Guess the one downer is that you can’t use it with a MacBook case since it needs to fit quite snugly on the side as you can see in the pictures.

3952c8fc1a7faebc4c81b2ee717a796f_original

With that said, it’s not such a bad thing. It’s made quite well so I don’t feel as though I’m going to “break” it when I’m taking it on & off. Comes in handy when I want to use the HDMI to hook it up with my monitor or TV to watch something from my computer. Not that it needs to be done, but while testing it was quite smooth.

Anothing thing I liked is the SD drive slot! Since I have an actual camerqa on top of my phone camera it’s really nice to not have to bother with more connections. This hub just lets me do it in one go. So now I can upload photos onto my cloud directly from my Macbook! Yay!

Since the KickStarter did well it did come with an extra leather case. Not that it’s a bad thing, but really I didn’t see a need for leather casing…I kind of like pouches since I can close it on top with string, but again it’s a persona preference.

Even with my skeptical self this turned out to be a good purchase at $79 with shipping ($10 world wide). Even on amazon and such I would have paid £40+ on a drive any way so it was kind of nice to find something that was not yet so common in the market that worked out well.

Would I recommend it?

Yes most definitely! It’s not a bad price considering all that’s in the market. It won’t make or break the bank even if yu decide on purchasing it. Overall will be a good solid purchase for anyone looking to buy a hub for their MacBook.

Give this HyperDrive a try!

Here’s the link for their Indiegogo offer : HyperDrive

*Those pictures are from their official website as I am currently having a bit of issues uploading my pics…damn my iPhone and my camera! Also I am in no way endorsed by them so I purchased the item and this is my honest opinion on the hub based on my use for the past few weeks.

Leave a Reply

